Manga Discussion: Sankarea

SankareaIf you’re looking for a pretty standard shounen rom-com sort of series, then Sankarea might be something you want to check out; other than that though, it isn’t anything all that special. While the romance was at least something I was able to root for, this series didn’t really do anything out of the ordinary, nor did it really have anything interesting to say. The series fit very nicely with the other shounen series without doing all that much to innovate and so it isn’t anything all that exceptional. I wouldn’t go into this series expecting anything amazing, and if you’re not into shounens at all, I might tell you to shy away from this one. While I wouldn’t say the series was boring or unentertaining, I wouldn’t say it was anything more than just kind of okay; just managing to hold my interest enough to get me through the series in its entirety. If you’re a big fan of typical shounen romance stories though, you might thoroughly enjoy this series, unfortunately, I am not one of those types of people. I would really only recommend it to those who enjoy those series, and to people who think the premise (a guy with a fetish for zombies involved with a girl who happens to be one) is interesting, but other than that, you might wanna pass on this series. It’s not that it’s bad, it’s just that there are certainly better series out there, and so I give it a:

6 out of 10.

Also, I still have yet to receive a short manga recommendation from you guys, so if you’d like to hear a review of a series you just love, head over to this page and leave a comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

