Fall 2016 Anime Season Standouts

fallAfter checking out some of the anime from this current season, I though it be nice to share my views and opinions on the ones I  watched, and the ones I have my eye on. I’ve only watched the first episode of each of these series. I’ll waiting until the seasons over so I can marathon these, but in the mean time, this is what I’ve come up with.  I’ll divide things up into 6 categories, Very Interested, Mildly Interested, Less Interested, On My Radar, Dropped, and Shorts.

Let’s start off with some shows that I’m Very Interested in:

Nanbaka: What could they possibly do with a story all about escaping from prison? well, what they could do is make it absolutely hilarious and get me to want more, and that’s exactly what this show does. It has plenty of ridiculous and funny moments to keep me entertained and laughing.

Kiss Him, Not Me: A reverse harem about a fujoshi that can’t help but want her lovers to go out and bang eachother instead of her. This series has some great comedic value, and also if my judgment from the cover and opening are correct, there might even be some yuri in it; either that or there’s gonna be a cross dresser at some point, but it doesn’t matter which because this show is hilarious.

Drifters: I can’t wait to see this series in its entirety. I alternate universe where some of the greatest military leaders, strategist, tacticians, and soldiers all come together in one giant pot. There will most likely be some amazingly epic scale fights and the animation is incredibly unique. I want more.

Now, onto my middle tier of shows I’m Mildly Interested in:

Udon no Kuni no Kiniro Kemari: That is a long title, but this series certainly has my interest. We have a story about a 30 year old man who’s having trouble deciding whether or not he wants to take over his families Udon business after his father dies. We also get to see a glimpse of this mans past that may or may not have been great, I am interested in finding out what happens.

Shuumatsu no Izetta: An alternate history story set during WWII about the princess of a small independent nation under threat of Nazi invasion and a young witch who she befriended as a child. I am interested to see how this series depicts magic and the ways in which it will affect war and politics.

Matoi the Sacred Slayer: It’s a magical girl story about a girl who doesn’t want to be a magical girl. Not only that, but it also seems that being a magical girl may involve serious consequences when you just want to live a normal life. I need to see where this goes.

Flip Flappers: Coming in here, we have something with some incredible animation quality and what appears to be another magical girl show, and this one also seems to have a dark twist, and it comes on very suddenly. I want to watch more, even if that just to see some great animation and some cool fight scenes.

Magical Girl Raising Project: What’s up with all the magical girl stuff this season? Anyway, this one involves a girl and her childhood male friend and there journey together as new magical girls where it looks like they’re going to have to fight to the death to maintain their magical girl status. Fun!

Now onto things I think I’ll give a try, but overall am Less Interested in:

Bloodivores: This series has some super generic elements in it, but I do like the cliche plotline of “the framed person” and so I hope this series defies my expectations of it.

3-Gatsu mo Lion: What I thought was going to be a completely serious series turned out to have some spontaneous and out of nowhere moments of ridiculous off the wall comedy that upset the serious tone and takes away from the experience, I hope this series doesn’t turn put to be super inconsistent like it was this first episode.

Trickster: Edogawa Ranpo “Shounen Tanteidan” Yori: I’m not quite sure how I feel about this one to be honest, but I think it has some potential, I don’t really have much else to say about this one though, other than that it has an overly long title.

Let’s get into some series I haven’t watched yet, but are On My Radar.:

Yuri!!! on Ice: This series seems to have made some pretty good impressions on people, but I think I’ll wait a little bit before jumping on the band wagon.

Soul Buster: A 15-minute series that appears to have some action in it. It may be cool, it may not be, but I want to at least check it out.

Here we are, at series I Dropped:

Touken Ranbu: Hanamaru: This series just doesn’t seem for me, but if you’re a fan of shows involving cute guys doing cute things, then you might wanna give this one a go, but that just isn’t for me.

Gi(a)rlish Number: This series just didn’t seem to have that interesting of a concept, not to mention that every character is painful to watch, I just really don’t see much value in this one.

Onto the section about Shorts:

Ones I will keep watching include Nazotokine and Mahou Shoujo Nante Mou Ii Desukara Season 2.

Ones I dropped are Cheating Craft and Kiitarou Shounen no Youkai Enikki.

And there’s my opinion on this current season. Now I just have to wait until it ends so that I can marathon theses shows. Have a series you’re liking and I don’t have? leave it in the comments and I’ll be sure to respond.

Leave a Reply

