First Impressions: Clannad

clannadI’m 3 episodes into Clannad, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t concerned. So far, there hasn’t been much in it that has gotten me hooked, or has turned my head, aside from a scene where our main character, Tomoya Okazaki, talks about why he doesn’t play basketball anymore. As of now, the characters appear to have the personality of they’re specific quirk, with one girl being sickly and lonely, one being aggressive and outgoing, one being cold and aggressive, one being the idiot friend, and the list goes on, I hope that the series doesn’t keep its characters this way, and instead decides to develop them in to something more than just a few quirks. I also haven’t figured out whether the series is going for more comedic antics or for serious drama, and there are certainly glimmers of each, but I feel that the drama side could be more fleshed out and would leave for a much better experience for me personally, as I find the comedy mostly lack luster. If the show gets rid of some of its running gags, and actually decides to tell a serious story, I can see myself enjoying it to a significant degree, but if it tries to keep doing what its doing, I’ll be thoroughly disappointed, as I had high hopes for this series due to its many great reviews. I hope I’m wrong, and that these few issues I have with it will just go away as the series goes on; I’ll just have to see, but as for now, I’m not impressed.

Leave a Reply

